Skip to main content


NJ TRANSIT Ticket Policy – Effective July 1, 2024

See an important update about ticket refund eligibility. 

Beginning Monday, July 1, 2024, all printed and digital NJ TRANSIT one-way tickets will have a 30-day expiration period. Here are the details of the ticket expiration policy:

  • Any one-way tickets purchased on or after July 1, 2024, will be valid for 30 days, including the date of purchase.
  • Any tickets purchased prior to July 1, 2024, will expire on July 31, 2024, regardless of their original date of purchase.
  • Click here for information about the NJ TRANSIT refund policy.

Attention Metro-North Railroad Customers: 

Please note that one-way, round-trip, and 10-trip tickets purchased by Metro-North customers traveling to and from the following Metro-North train stations on the Port Jervis and Pascack Valley lines will retain ticket expiration dates consistent with Metro-North’s ticketing policy. The Metro-North stations are as follows: Sloatsburg, Tuxedo, Harriman, Salisbury Mills, Campbell Hall, Middletown (NY), Otisville, Port Jervis, Pearl River, Nanuet, and Spring Valley. For detailed Metro-North ticket information, please visit Metro-North’s ticketing and refund policies  


  • Effective July 1, 2024, the 20-trip FLEXPASS pilot fare will be discontinued.
  • The last date to purchase a FLEXPASS will be June 30, 2024.

For more information on our ticket policy and assistance with any questions, please contact our customer service team via the available methods listed at For questions on how our fare system works, please visit our website at

Customers are encouraged to monitor Travel Alerts & Advisories, sign up for My Transit Alerts, download the NJ TRANSIT app, visit, or follow us at @NJTRANSIT on “X” (formerly Twitter). 

For more information and language assistance, please call NJ TRANSIT Customer Service at (973) 275-5555 between the hours of 8:30AM and 5PM daily.